David Smith Invents

Shopping Cart Notice

In order to purchase a book title from our shopping cart you must download and install the Mozilla Firefox browser. If you're unable to download and install Firefox, you may also place your order directly from our fulfillment warehouse, Triliteral, by calling 1-800-405-1619. If you have received a promotional code for an event or conference purchase, please mention it when placing your order.
 
Please note that the Triliteral Call Center is open Monday thru Friday, 9 am to 5 pm EST. Due to the influx of calls, wait times may be longer than usual. We appreciate your patience and apologize for any inconvenience.

Susan Behrends Frank; With essays by Sarah Hamill and Peter Stevens

View Inside Format: HC - Paper over Board
Price: $30.00
YUP
Our shopping cart only supports Mozilla Firefox. Please ensure you're using that browser before attempting to purchase.

A fascinating look at renowned sculptor David Smith's late works and the methods and materials behind them

Abstract Expressionist artist David Smith (1906–1965) was one of the most important American sculptors of the 20th century, yet few publications dedicated to his creative output currently exist. A painter-sculptor in the tradition of Matisse and Picasso, he focused on welded steel sculptures while simultaneously working inventively in two dimensions, in paint, ink, or tempera. David Smith Invents is the first book to focus on the output in all media of the artist's last fifteen years, a period in which he explored concave and convex forms in works welded from steel tanks and pipes that he bought by the rail-car load as industrial waste. Starting in 1953, Smith's efforts resulted in the monumental, personage-like forms of the Tanktotems series, and the later series of Bouquet of Concaves, leading in 1961 to the massive Zigs.

Susan Behrends Frank opens a window onto the unusual working process employed by Smith, who was once a welder on an automobile production line. In spite of their industrial manufacture and materials, his works blurred the boundaries between sculpture, painting, and drawing, and his sculptures during this period were created in a pictorial fashion, in a single plane. One of his practices was to draw a white rectangle on the floor and position the metal parts of his sculpture within its boundaries. Featured throughout the book are extraordinary photographs taken by Smith of his sculptures, along with an enlightening essay on the photos by Sarah Hamill. Peter Stevens discusses Smith's materials and surfaces.

Susan Behrends Frank is the Associate Curator for Research at the Phillips Collection in Washington, D.C. Sarah Hamill is Assistant Professor of Modern and Contemporary Art, Oberlin College. Peter Stevens is Executive Director of the Estate of David Smith.

EXHIBITION SCHEDULE

The Phillips Collection (02/12/11-05/05/11)

ISBN: 9780300169652
Publication Date: April 5, 2011
Publishing Partner: Published in association with The Phillips Collection
112 pages, 7 1/2 x 10 3/4
26 b/w + 54 color illus.
Made in the U.S.A.

American Art from The Phillips Collection, 1850–1970

Edited by Susan Behrends Frank; With an essay by Eliza E.

...
View details