Hawaiian Modern

The Architecture of Vladimir Ossipoff

Dean Sakamoto and Karla Britton; With Don J. Hibbard, Spencer Leineweber, Diana Murphy, and Marc Treib, and a foreword by Kenneth Frampton

View Inside Format: PB-with Flaps
Price: $45.00
YUPOut of Stock
Our shopping cart only supports Mozilla Firefox. Please ensure you're using that browser before attempting to purchase.

Also Available in:

An illuminating study of the architecture of one of the 20th century’s most important tropical modernists

Vladimir Ossipoff (1907–1998), known as the “master of Hawaiian architecture,” was at the forefront of the postwar phenomenon known as tropical modernism. Although he practiced at a time of rapid growth and social change in Hawai`i, Ossipoff criticized large-scale development and advocated environmentally sensitive designs, developing a distinctive form of architecture appropriate to the lush topography, microclimates, and vernacular traditions of the Hawaiian islands.


This stunning book, now available for the first time in paperback, surveys Ossipoff’s buildings, which demonstrate a striking interplay of indoor and outdoor space, as well as a vibrant and glamorous architectural style that has proven delightfully particular to its place and durable over time.

Dean Sakamoto, principal of Dean Sakamoto Architects/SHADE Group, is based in Honolulu, Hawai`i and New Haven, Connecticut. Karla Britton is lecturer in architectural history at the Yale School of Architecture. 


Honolulu Academy of Arts, Hawaii (November 29, 2007 – January 27, 2008)

Yale School of Architecture, New Haven (Fall 2008)

Deutsches Architekturmuseum, Frankfurt (Spring 2009)

ISBN: 9780300214161
Publication Date: March 31, 2015
Publishing Partner: Published in association with the Honolulu Museum of Art
304 pages, 9 1/2 x 10 1/2
36 color + 243 b/w illus.
Constructing the Ineffable

Contemporary Sacred Architecture

Edited by Karla Britton; with contributions by Thomas Beeby

View details
Landscapes of Modern Architecture

Wright, Mies, Neutra, Aalto, Barragán

Marc Treib

View details
The Other Modern Movement

Architecture, 1920–1970

Kenneth Frampton

View details