The Iceman Cometh

Eugene O'Neill; With a Foreword by Harold Bloom

View Inside Price: $12.95

August 28, 2006
240 pages, 5 x 7 3/4
ISBN: 9780300117431

Also Available in:

Eugene O’Neill was the first American playwright to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. He completed The Iceman Cometh in 1939, but he delayed production until after the war, when it enjoyed a long run of performances in 1946 after receiving mixed reviews. Three years after O'Neill's death, Jason Robards starred in a Broadway revival that brought new critical attention to O’Neill’s darkest and most nihilistic play. In the half century since, The Iceman Cometh has gained enormously in stature, and many critics now recognize it as one of the greatest plays in American drama.  The Iceman Cometh focuses on a group of alcoholics and misfits who endlessly discuss but never act on their dreams, and Hickey, the traveling salesman determined to strip them of their pipe dreams.

Eugene O’Neill (1888-1953), the father of American drama, won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama four times and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1936. Harold Bloom, Sterling Professor of the Humanities at Yale University and Berg Professor of English at New York University, is the author of many books, including The Western Canon, Shakespeare: The Invention of the Human, and Jesus and Yahweh: The Names Divine.

"We live and die, in the spirit, in solitude, and the true strength of Iceman is its intense dramatic exemplification of that somber reality . . . life, in Iceman, is what it is in Schopenhauer: illusion."—from the foreword by Harold Bloom

Selected as a 2007 AAUP University Press Book for Public and Secondary School Libraries

Sales Restrictions: For sale in the United States, its territories and dependencies, and Canada only
The Tempest

First Edition

William Shakespeare; Fully annotated, with an Introduction,

View details
Collected Shorter Plays

Eugene O'Neill; Introduction by Robert Brustein

View details
Romeo and Juliet

William Shakespeare; Fully annotated, with an introduction,

View details
A Touch of the Poet and More Stately Mansions

Eugene O´Neill; Edited and introduced by Martha Gilman Bowe

View details
Long Day’s Journey into Night

Second Edition

Eugene O´Neill; With a foreword by Harold Bloom

View details
Henry the Fourth, Part One

William Shakespeare; Fully annotated, with an Introduction,

View details