Oxfordshire North and West

Alan Brooks, Jennifer Sherwood, and Nikolaus Pevsner

View Inside Format: Hardcover
Price: $85.00
Our shopping cart only supports Mozilla Firefox. Please ensure you're using that browser before attempting to purchase.

This volume is a fully expanded and revised architectural guide to the greater part of Oxfordshire, based on Jennifer Sherwood’s 1970s account, full of new information and with specially commissioned photography.The vernacular architecture of the villages and farms is well represented here, as well as notable town architecture and the medieval parish churches for which the area is well known. Oxfordshire is also a county of great houses, from the romantic medieval ruins of Minster Lovell to the late flowering of Lutyens’s 1930s Middleton Park; the grandest, however, is Blenheim Palace, the Baroque masterpiece designed by John Vanbrugh (1664–1726).

Alan Brooks is the author or co-author of four previous volumes in the revised Buildings of England series.
ISBN: 9780300209303
Publication Date: August 1, 2017
736 pages, 4 1/2 x 8 1/2
120 color illus.
Gloucestershire 1: The Cotswolds

David Verey and Alan Brooks

View details

Jennifer Sherwood and Nikolaus Pevsner

View details

Alan Brooks and Nikolaus Pevsner

View details