What We Live For, What We Die For

Selected Poems

Serhiy Zhadan; Translated from the Ukrainian by Virlana Tkacz and Wanda Phipps; Foreword by Bob Holman

View Inside Price: $18.00


April 16, 2019
160 pages, 6 x 7 3/4
ISBN: 9780300223361
PB-with Flaps

“Everyone can find something, if they only look carefully,” reads one of the memorable lines from this first collection of poems by the world-renowned Ukrainian author Serhiy Zhadan. In these accessible narrative poems, the reader will find profoundly and concisely drawn portraits of life on war-torn and poverty-ravaged streets, where children tally the number of local deaths, where mothers live with low expectations, where romance lives like a remote memory.

In the tradition of Tom Waits, Charles Bukowski, and William S. Burroughs, Zhadan creates a new poetics of loss, a daily crusade of testimonial, a final witness of abandoned lives in a claustrophobic universe where “every year there’s less and less air.” Yet despite the grimness of these portraits, Zhadan’s poems are familiar and enchanting, pulsing with the magic of everyday detail, and ultimately leaving readers with a sense of hope, knowing that the will of a people “will never let it be / like it was before.”

Serhiy Zhadan was born in the Luhansk Region of Ukraine and educated in Kharkiv. His previous works include Mesopotamia, and his books have been translated into several languages. Virlana Tkacz and Wanda Phipps are an award-winning translation team who have been translating Ukrainian poetry since 1989.
Mesopotamia

Serhiy Zhadan; Prose Translated from the Ukrainian by Reill

...
View details
The Margellos World Republic of Letters
A Guide to Philosophy in Six Hours and Fifteen Minutes

Witold Gombrowicz; Translated by Benjamin Ivry

View details
Ferdydurke

Witold Gombrowicz; Translated by Danuta Borchardt; Foreword

...
View details
Diary

Witold Gombrowicz; Translated by Lillian Vallee

View details
Five Spice Street

Can Xue, Translated by Karen Gernant and Chen Zeping

View details
Exemplary Novels

Miguel de Cervantes; Translated from the Spanish by Edith G

...
View details
Songbook
The Selected Poems of Umberto Saba

Umberto Saba; Translated by George Hochfield and Leonard Na

...
View details