Magnum Opus

Shopping Cart Notice

In order to purchase a book title from our shopping cart you must download and install the Mozilla Firefox browser. If you're unable to download and install Firefox, you may also place your order directly from our fulfillment warehouse, Triliteral, by calling 1-800-405-1619. If you have received a promotional code for an event or conference purchase, please mention it when placing your order.
Please note that the Triliteral Call Center is open Monday thru Friday, 9 am to 5 pm EST. Due to the influx of calls, wait times may be longer than usual. We appreciate your patience and apologize for any inconvenience.

The Cycle Plays of Eugene O’Neill

Zander Brietzke

View Inside Format: HC - Paper over Board
Price: $65.00
YUPComing Soon
Our shopping cart only supports Mozilla Firefox. Please ensure you're using that browser before attempting to purchase.

From 1935 to 1939, Eugene O'Neill worked on a series of plays that would trace the history of an American family through several generations. He completed just two of the proposed eleven plays—A Touch of the Poet and More Stately Mansions—which Zander Brietzke argues represent the core of the entire cycle. Combining archival research, literary analysis, and theatrical imagination, Magnum Opus invites an audience to see this unusual and exciting epic as a historical drama of our time.

Zander Brietzke is the author of The Aesthetics of Failure, American Drama in the Age of Film, and Action and Consequence in Ibsen, Chekhov and Strindberg. A former president of the Eugene O'Neill Society, he taught modern and contemporary drama at Columbia University.

"The definitive study of the Cycle, and therefore a book that will last the test of time.”—Robert M. Dowling, author of Eugene O'Neill: A Life in Four Acts

“There is no other work in O’Neill studies that does what Brietzke does here.”—Beth Wynstra, Babson College
ISBN: 9780300248470
Publication Date: April 20, 2021
224 pages, 6 1/8 x 9 1/4
11 b/w illus.