Why I Write Series Giveaway Official Rules

By entering this Givewaway, you accept these terms and conditions and you acknowledge that you satisfy all eligibility requirements.

Limit one entry per person or email account. To enter you must be a resident of the United States or Canada and at least 18 years old. The prize is non-transferrable, non-refundable, and cannot be exchanged for a cash alternative in whole or in part.

Entrants must provide a valid email address and opt-in to Yale University Press’s Email Newsletter mailing list. In doing so you are permitting Yale University Press to contact you with future promotions and offers. Your email will not be shared with any third parties, and you may choose to later opt-out of such communications at any time.

One entrant will be selected to win the advertised prize, consisting of one copy of each book in the Why I Write series published by Yale University Press. At the time of this Giveaway the prize will include one physical copy of each: Catching the Light by Joy Harjo, For Now by Eileen Myles, Of Solids and Surds by Samuel R. Delany, Inadvertent by Karl Ove Knausgaard, and Devotion by Patti Smith. The winner of the Giveaway will be chosen at random. The closing date for entry of the “Why I Write Series” Giveaway will be September 30, 2022. Entries must be received no later than 11:59 pm (US EDT) on the closing date.

This Giveaway at is sponsored by Yale University Press in New Haven, CT and is not open to employees of Yale University Press or their families. Yale University Press, in its sole discretion, reserves the right to disqualify any person ineligible for entry, or found to be tampering with the entry or voting process, or otherwise in violation of the rules. Subject to all federal, state, and local laws and regulations. No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited.